Ann Obergfell Elected President Of ARRT Board

For Immediate Release
Contact: ARRT Strategic Communications

(August 22, 2016) — At its semiannual meeting in July, the Board of Trustees for The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) elected its slate of officers for 2016-17. Ann M. Obergfell, J.D., R.T.(R)(ARRT), was elected president.

Obergfell joined the ARRT Board in 2010 and is now midway through her second four-year term, the maximum allowed under ARRT bylaws. She was nominated for ARRT’s Board by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.

“ARRT’s role in credentialing professionals is critical to the safety and well-being of patients who need medical imaging and radiation therapy procedures,” Obergfell says. “It’s an honor to be a member of the board and humbling to be selected to serve as president.”

Obergfell earned her law degree from the University of Louisville School of Law (Louisville, Kentucky) and has a bachelor’s degree in health service management from Indiana University’s School of Medicine (Indianapolis, Indiana). She also has an associate of science degree in radiologic sciences from Indiana University—Fort Wayne and a certificate in radiologic technology from Parkview Memorial Hospital (Fort Wayne, Indiana).

ARRT’s other officers for the coming year are:

They will serve through the end of ARRT’s Board meeting in July 2017.

About ARRT

ARRT is governed by a board of 10, including five technologists nominated by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, the national professional membership organization representing all areas of the radiologic sciences. A sixth technologist is nominated from a professional membership society identified by ARRT based on its current needs. The remaining four are physicians nominated by the American College of Radiology, the principal membership organization of radiologists, radiation oncologists and clinical medical physicists in the United States.